Twitter icon
Facebook icon


Induction Year: 
By Broomstick-Jersey Lightning, by Hamburg
Harry Payne Whitney
Harry Payne Whitney
James Rowe, Sr.

Tab Wrapper


   Regret was the first filly to win the Kentucky Derby. In fact, she won all her races at 2 and 3 and beat colts each time. In her first season Regret won the Saratoga Special, Sanford, and Hopeful Stakes.

   In 1915 the Kentucky Derby did not hold the prominence that it has today. Racetrack promoter, Col. Matt Winn, later said that Regret's victory "made the Kentucky Derby an American institution." Following her victory, Regret defeated Belmont winner, The Finn, in the Saranac. At 4 Regret lost the Saratoga Handicap but won an Overnight race. The following year she won the Gazelle Handicap under 129 pounds, giving CCA Oaks winner Wistful 24 pounds.

   Regret's success on the track did not carry to the breeding farm. She did not produce any stakes winners of note but will always be remembered as the first filly to win the Kentucky Derby.

   Regret was inducted in the Hall of Fame in 1957.