Hall of Fame, Jockey

James McLaughlin
Inducted - 1955

Riding Career:1876-1892
Number of Mounts:record unavailable
Number of Winners:
Winning Percentage:


James McLaughlin rode in the latter years of the 19th century. Unfortunately, no accurate record of his racing statistics exists today.

McLaughlin was prepared for the races by the legendary Bill Daly, trainer of many turn-of-the-century jockeys. Rival jockey 'Snapper' Garrison once said that McLaughlin 'was the only jockey I hated to meet in an important race. He was a master judge of pace.' McLaughlin's six Belmont Stakes wins is a record that he shares with Eddie Arcaro. McLaughlin also won the 1881 Kentucky Derby on Hindoo and the 1885 Preakness on Tecumseh.


Principal Races Won

6 Belmont Stakes The Preakness
Kentucky Derby 3 Alabama Stakes
2 Monmouth Oaks 3 Flash Stakes
4 Ladies Handicaps 4 Travers

McLaughlin rode many great horses but rated Luke Blackburn the best. Tremont was his best 2-year-old and Firenze the best filly.


Significant Mounts

Luke Blackburn Hindoo Kingston
Hanover Miss Woodford Firenze
Forester George Kinney Panique
Inspector B Sir Dixon Tecumseh
Tremont His Highness

James McLaughlin was the nation's leading rider from 1884 through 1887. He was inducted in the Hall of Fame in 1955.

Currier and Ives print of Hanover, James McLaughlin up
NMR Collection

  |  Visitor Information  |  Exhibits  |  Calendar of Events  |  Hall of Fame  |  Education  |  Support the Museum  |  News  |  Rentals  |  Photo Galleries  |  Contact  |  Search  |  Online Store   |  Home  |  
© 2014 National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame • 191 Union Avenue, Saratoga Springs NY 12866 • 1-800-JOCKEY4
Webdesign by Spa.Net Webdesign Group